The tentative first steps into egg donation…

Having thought long and hard about wanting to become an egg donor, it was time for me to start researching.  I wanted to know everything that was involved so that I could make an informed decision.  I came across a few companies on the internet, one of which really caught my eye ~ Altrui www.altrui.co.uk.    A wonderfully designed website with as much information as anyone could want.  I think most ladies looking into this will agree that they wanted to know a lot of information before sending that first ‘enquiry/information request’.

Well, I spent quite a few days reading everything I could find on the subject on the Altrui website and many others including watching lots of videos on YouTube.  Aside from the actual process, I have always found the subject of genetics and fertility treatments absolutely fascinating. What can be achieved through Science and modern medicine is just incredible  For the past 3-4 years,  I have been a member of a very special group on Facebook, who help and support ladies in their journeys with infertility or towards a family, usually through fertility treatments.  I have seen so many of these lovely ladies go through the gruelling process of fertility treatment and it amazes me.  The desire, the passion, the strength they find to do absolutely anything in their power to be able to become a parent.  We have loved and supported each other on ‘bad days’ when everyone around you is announcing their pregnancies and all you want to do is cry.  I know from their experiences how emotionally and physically draining fertility treatments can be….  How devastating it can be to see another negative pregnancy test having just undergone yet another IVF cycle or to so amazingly, finally see that positive result, so wonderful that they have to look 10 times before they believe it!  ‘Pregnant’, ‘mother’, ‘father’, words that they can actually begin to use and apply to their own lives ~ something they thought might never ever happen!  I must say, that I cry tears of happiness every single time another couple gets this wonderful news!

Having done all the initial research, I then broached the subject with my husband.  As much as the physical aspects of the process don’t effect him, I needed to make sure he was fine with all aspects of the process, understood what it would entail and that I had his full support, which of course I did 🙂

I made the first contact with Altrui requesting an information pack. Within just a few hours, I had a response from them thanking me for coming forward to be a donor and setting up the first phone consultation.  A few days later, Alison called me and we had a in-depth discussion about everything that the process would entail, physically and emotionally!  I came off the phone feeling even more sure that I wanted to be a donor.

With that, I then needed to complete my Profile which would be used to match me with the couple who would be receiving my eggs.  I had to fill in everything from all my vital statistics to qualifications, hobbies and general, non identifying information about myself, my beliefs, passions and personality.  I love to write and quite enjoyed filling it in but it took me quite a few days to get it done.  How do you know where to start when writing information for a potential recipient couple?!  I finished it, tweaked it, fiddled with it, uploaded my baby photo and when I was finally happy with it, hit submit….!

And then I waited…..

Leave a Reply

