A perfect match…

The very next day I received an email from Alison thanking me for completing my profile and that she would begin the search for a recipient couple.  Within a week, I received a wonderful phone call from a very excited Alison saying that she had found a perfect match!  The process could now begin.

I was referred to City Fertility in London, the same clinic where my couple are registered so that we can both receive treatment at the same place.  The next day, I was contacted by City Fertility and my first appointment was arranged for a month later.  This was to be a long day of various types of extensive screening to make sure that I am able to donate.  I will go into this more later on 🙂

This is to be an anonymous egg donation.  I will not know the identity of the couple receiving my eggs and they will not know mine.  However, I was delighted to get an email from Alison telling me that my couple had written me a letter…. It is hard to put into words just how much this meant to me.  I always knew that this would be anonymous and I didn’t expect any kind of communication with my couple but I had hoped that they would want to tell me a little information about themselves.  I heard from Alison regarding this email while I was at work so decided to save the letter for when I got home guessing it was probably going to be an emotional read….

How right I was!  What a beautiful, heart warming letter.  They sound like a lovely couple and we have so much in common with our personalities – we like the same things, are passionate about the same things and enjoy the same hobbies… we really are a perfect match!  It was full of heartfelt gratitude and I was especially pleased to receive this before the medical side of the process began….them making it clear that they will be forever grateful to me for this gift…no matter what the outcome of the cycle may be.  Hearing from them gave a small insight into who they are and what makes them tick, making this all a lot more personal for me.  But above all, it was lovely to read in their own words just how much this means to them and how they want to be parents more than anything else.

Yes, it was very emotional reading this, but it just made me even more sure and more determined that I am doing the right thing.  I really hope that together, with the help of Altrui and City Fertility, we can make this lovely couple into a lovely little family! 😀

xxxx

6 thoughts on “A perfect match…

  1. Enjoying reading your story so far! If you’d like to join our online donor-only forum, we’d love to have you! Just email us for instructions on joining.

  2. Being a recipient on the egg donor waiting list I just want to say what an amazing thing you’re doing. There should be more women out there lime you. I wish you and your recipient all the luck in the world.

Leave a Reply

