Recovery and Guest Blog :)

It has now been just over 3 weeks since my operation and (touch wood), I am feeling much better! Woohoo!  About time eh! 😀

I did have a little infection to add to my list of complications though – the incision on my left side went quite red and angry and was a lot more sore than the others….and was starting to discharge. Thankfully though, with a week of oral antibiotics, it cleared up.  Now the stitches have come away from the left and the right incisions, just a little one left in my belly button but that will dissolve when it’s ready.  My incisions are looking much better now thankfully. My belly button is still bruised and green but not sore.

Emotionally, this was all really hard for me…. Being unwell involving my reproductive system made it all very personal again – like my gynae issues giving me a big, painful reminder, like I could ever forget, that my body is just not going to play the game…even if we could conceive.  I know being unwell makes me more sensitive but some things made it much harder, like the ward I was on was right next to Maternity so while I was laying there through a sleepless night, in agony clutching my swollen tummy, all I could hear was women in labour and babies being born! Talk about a kick in the teeth.  Don’t get me wrong, I am ok and feeling much brighter but at the time, I was in a lot of pain and high on drugs so it didn’t take much for me to end up in tears.  I don’t think I’d have been quite as emotional if it was a broken bone or something not gynae related.

I think it is safe to say that I am now almost over all of this!  I find it quite funny that I just got an appointment for my scan – the one I was supposed to have 6 weeks after my first admission – which would be on my first day back at work! I had great pleasure in ringing to cancel it since I’ve already had the surgery! What an incredibly long process this could have been!

I am back to work soon and it will be lovely to be back! Hopefully this will never happen again!

Anyway, changing the subject back to my egg donations…

I got approached by a lovely lady in America about interviewing for a guest blog with her. She went through a difficult time conceiving her little girl and was eventually successful using donor eggs (not mine in case anyone wondered!). It is wonderful to talk to her about her thoughts and feelings about using donor eggs… As I have mentioned before, it’s lovely for me to ‘meet’ ladies who have used donor eggs to have their children. It makes it all so real for me to see their children growing up – their beautiful, little miracles, knowing an egg donor, like me, helped them to make it possible.  ❤

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again but donating my eggs really has been one of the most rewarding things I have ever done! I am so thankful that I was able to do it as not everyone is so fortunate.

If you fancy a read of my interview, you can find it here at her blog. Please let me know what you think. Hope you enjoy it.Thank you Risa!

An-egg-donors-story – Guest Blog

THANK YOU again to all of you who sent me lots of love and well wishes throughout all of this. During those dark days, my husband, friends and family kept me smiling through my tears.

Sending love and good health to all my readers.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

